Willoughby Historical Museum
The Willoughby Historical Museum is the rural branch of the Niagara Falls Museums. Whereas the Ferry Street site is grandiose and impressive, this humble one-room schoolhouse provides the perfect setting in which to experience the charm of early life in the area known as Willoughby.
Being a former schoolhouse (Located in the former School Section #2), visitors can admire former report cards and photographs and observe the markings on the floor where the desks were bolted down. Early life is shown through farming tools and family heirlooms.
Located a short distance from the site of the Battle of Chippawa (5 July 1814), the Willoughby Historical Museum provides multiple displays explaining the intricacies and experiences of different peoples at this battle and throughout the War of 1812.
Visitors are invited to enjoy two interactive exhibits: take a turn weaving on the loom, or connect a call through the telephone operating system which is still working!
Whether you are cycling alongside the beautiful Niagara River or just out for what Winston Churchill once called, “the prettiest Sunday drive in the world,” be sure to stop by the Willoughby Historical Museum to experience the charm.
Wednesday - Sunday: 11am – 5pm
Closed during Winter
Guided Tours: Visitors are guided through the displays by our staff, or if desired can view the collection on their own. We offer guided tours to groups which must be booked in advance.
Washrooms: Are available at the back of the building
Parking: There is ample parking and bike racks available at the Museum. Parking lot entrance is off Weaver Road
Wheelchair Accessibility: The Museum is not accessible to those in wheelchairs or scooters.
Location:9935 Niagara Parkway
Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada L2G 0P1
Admission is by donation