Allister Young Arts & Culture Endowment Fund

Photograph of a person singing with a guitar

The City of Niagara Falls Arts, Culture & Museum Committee invites interested individuals to apply to the Allister Young Arts & Culture Endowment Fund.

In 1997, Mr. Allister Young donated a 1932 Ford Roadster to the then Arts and Culture Commission. The car was raffled off and the money raised from the sale of tickets was used to establish an Arts and Culture Endowment Fund to support artistic development.

Applicants to the fund must be residents of Niagara Falls in their high school graduating year or older and active artists in any creative arts field. Please note that applicants are not required to be students. Eligible artists ages 16 to 100 are encouraged to apply.

Applicants must submit a resume with a digital portfolio, video, or examples of written or performance work, a written artist statement and statement of intention.

The annual deadline for submissions is March 15th of each year.
One award of $1000 will be awarded to one individual per year.

Past recipients include;

2022 - Dillon Douglas

2020 - Leona Skye Grandmond

2019 - Ashlee Standish

2018 - Aaron Berger & Jana Jaros

2017 - Sara Lou Stuart

2016 - Tristain Zammitt

2015 - Carl David Onofrio

2014 - Emily Andrews 

2013 - Lynzey Ruscitti

2012 - Nicole Panday & Stephanie Oliver

The Guidelines and Application form is available for download.  A hard copy of the application form can be picked up at the Niagara Falls History Museum, 5810 Ferry Street, please call in advance to ensure a copy is available for pick up (905-358-5082).

Stamford Collegiate Alumni Association Award In Memory of Barbara Frum

First awarded in 1992, the Barbara Frum Award is presented to an individual or an organization who has enhanced the quality of our lives by virtue of their "outstanding contribution to fostering and developing arts and culture opportunities in Niagara Falls.

The Barbara Frum Nomination Form is available in online.

Past Winners of the Barbara Frum Award

  • Karen Stearne (2020)
  • Wendy Leard (2019)
  • Angela Menotti (2018)
  • Elizabeth Manker (2017)
  • Micheal Madden (2016)
  • Philomena McCracken (2015)
  • John (Jock) Ainslie (2014)
  • Rick Rose (2013)
  • Derek Tidd (2012)
  • Stamford Centre Volunteer Firemen's Association (2011)
  • John Anstruther (2009)
  • Elizabeth Detlor (2008)
  • Anthony J. Smith (2007)
  • Nancy Zimmerman (2005)
  • Niagara Concerts (2004)
  • Carmen Dix (2003)
  • Frances Corfield (2002)
  • Marjorie Slinn (2001)
  • Hilda Corkum (2000)
  • Sherman Zavitz (1999)
  • Egidio (Ed) Fantinel (1998)
  • Pamela Robb (1997)
  • Ruth Redmond (1996)
  • Adam Daniel White (1995)
  • Norma Potter (1994)
  • George and Olive Seibel (1994)
  • William S. Smeaton (1993)